Tract Written by an Atheist

Did I firmly believe, as millions say they do, that the knowledge and practice of religion in this life influences destiny in another, religion would mean to me everything.  I would cast away earthly enjoyments, earthly cares, and earthly thoughts as worthless.  Religion would be my first waking thought and my last image before sleep sank me into unconsciousness.  I would look at one soul gained for heaven worth a life of suffering.  Earthly consequences should never keep my hand from being active in the cause of the Gospel nor seal my lips.  I would strive to look upon eternity alone and on the immortal souls around me soon to be everlastingly happy or everlastingly miserable.  I would go out into the world and preach, and my text would be Matthew 16:26, KJV, “What shall it profit a man if he gain the whole world and lose his own soul?”

– From Overcoming Walls to Witnessing, Timothy K. Beougher, pp. 31-32.

One can only hope that this person did come to faith; let we who have believed absorb this lesson into our hearts.

Leave a Reply

