The God-Centeredness of Joseph

In a recent reading of Genesis 37-50, I noticed that Joseph lived with a relentless God-centeredness.  The following are some of the passages and related themes where the Israelite hero exhibited his godly worldview – a worldview, an entrancement we should pray to have, having now more fully seen the glory of this God in the face of Jesus Christ, –  

The Ultimate Moral Reality: Genesis 39:9, “How then can I do this great wickedness and sin against God?” 

The God of Interpretation: Genesis 40:8 (cf. 41:16), “They said to him, “We have had dreams, and there is no one to interpret them.” And Joseph said to them, “Do not interpretations belong to God?

The God of Revelation: Genesis 41:25 (cf. 41:28), “Then Joseph said to Pharaoh, “The dreams of Pharaoh are one; God has revealed to Pharaoh what he is about to do.”

The God of Predetermination and Providence: Genesis 41:32, “And the doubling of Pharaoh’s dream means that the thing is fixed by God, and God will shortly bring it about.”

The God of Greatest Blessing: Genesis 41:51, 52, “Joseph called the name of the firstborn Manasseh. “For,” he said, “God has made me forget all my hardship and all my father’s house. . . The name of the second he called Ephraim, “For God has made me fruitful in the land of my affliction.”

The Epicenter of Our Affections and Practice: Genesis 42:18, “On the third day Joseph said to them, “Do this and you will live, for I fear God”

The God of Grace: Genesis 43:23, “And he lifted up his eyes and saw his brother Benjamin, his mother’s son, and said, “Is this your youngest brother, of whom you spoke to me? God be gracious to you, my son!”

The God of Preservation, Promise, and Salvation: Genesis 45:5, 7-8 (cf. 50:24-25), “And now do not be distressed or angry with yourselves because you sold me here, for God sent me before you to preserve life. . . And God sent me before you to preserve for you a remnant on earth, and to keep alive for you many survivors. . . So it was not you who sent me here, but God. He has made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house and ruler over all the land of Egypt.

The God Who Grants Conception: Genesis 48:9, “Joseph said to his father, “They are my sons, whom God has given me here.”

The God of Moral Judgment: Genesis 50:19, “But Joseph said to them, “Do not fear, for am I in the place of God?”

God in Control, of Greater Purpose, for the Nations (see His saving plan, Acts 2:23): Genesis 50:20, “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people[1] should be kept alive, as they are today.”

Leave a Reply

