Coming Home to Jenny, Thinking About Jesus

Over the past couple of weeks I have driven over 2,000 miles from Louisville, KY to Lake Shore, MS back to Louisville, and then from there to Wake Forest, NC, and finally to Jenny in Six Mile, SC.  It began early Saturday morning, December 6 until mid-afternoon, December 18.  During this time I worked with brothers and sisters in Christ at Lake Shore to encourage the believers there and to help those still in need of housing, reconstruction, facilities, etc. after the devastation of Katrina.  I then made my way to Wake Forest to preach on 2 Corinthians 13:5 at Creedmoor Road Baptist Church for a Wednesday night youth service.  Everywhere in between I grew in eager expectation and earnest anticipation, in yearning, desiring, longing, needing to be with my beloved bride.  And as I drew near to her I found that the closer I got to reuniting with her, the more eager I became, the more excitation my heart experienced, the more I longed to hold her, the more quickly I found myself driving to reach her.   I also began to think about her anticipation of my home-coming, and the embrace that I knew she longed to give me.  Somewhere during this final stretch I thought to myself that this must, in some way (in a most perfect way), be how Christ longs, pursues, and loves His bride, the church, and how the church must wait for, and desire the coming of her Bridegroom, Jesus Christ.  Paul tells us in Ephesians 5 that marriage is a symbol of the greater reality known as Christ and the church.  We are told by John to wait with hope for His glorious appearing – our cry is, “Come Lord Jesus, come quickly!”  In the last 15 or so verses of Revelation, Jesus mentions the swiftness of His coming 3 times!  At long last He says, “Surely I am coming soon,” Revelation 22:20, to which we reply with John, “Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!”  Oh, that the church would yearn for her coming Bridegroom, that we would daily swoon, “How long O Lord?  How long?”  And yet, with much satisfaction, we know that He is on His way, and if my embrace with Jenny is any indication, our embrace with Jesus will be . . . well . . . perfect.

Leave a Reply

